Indonesia, Kalimantan, Travel

East Kalimantan Trip | Day 1/4 : Derawan

IMG_5336

Kalimarau Airport, Berau

Touch down! We arrived around 3PM local time (+1 from Jakarta, same time like Singapore & Malaysia) after 30 minutes on plane . The airport was small and only 2 planes including ours. The flight was packed with locals who come back home. The weather was hot & humid. Ah..I smell the sea. 🙂

Our mini bus was ready for us at the arrival lobby. We need to go from Tanjung Redeb to Tanjung Batu Port to continue with the speed boat that brought us to Derawan Island. We arrived there around 2 hours trip.

IMG_1911

sunset at Tj Batu Port

IMG_5335

Arrived Derawan!

Finally we arrived at Derawan island after 30 minutes by speedboat. We stayed at Derawan Beach Cottage & Cafe right at the seaside. The place was nice and it has bridge to the sea. We were all so sticky & sweaty after the long journey, hot weather, sea salts, etc. We were relieved that we finally reached our destination. We took dinner & settled our stuff in the room.

My cousin went to Derawan before and told me to spend me time there and enjoy the nature, the starry sky, the breeze, the sea…. so after dinner I went to the bridge right away to see all the stars! It was so … like.. I don’t know how to explain. This is the second time I see all stars like this. Really pretty..really mesmerizing! I felt like…gosh! Thank God you give me a chance to see your creation! I still can enjoy & stare at this nature beauty which I can’t see because buildings everywhere in the city… light pollution, air pollution.. just wow!

IMG_1940

F/3.5 ISO800 BULB for 60s

IMG_1947

So amazed!

See! It was amazing! I really no regret that I decided to join this trip. But I somehow regret that I didn’t bring my tripod with me. I was unsure whether should I bring it or will it be heavy or troublesome for me. 😦

The others followed me to the bridge too because I kept telling them that there are stars there. 😀

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I enjoyed the silent there. What I meant silent is that I only can hear the breeze, the tides and people chit chat or shout from other cottage. It was so relaxing and I forgot all the busy & tight working schedule back in town.

IMG_1923

Twin bedroom w/ AC & indoor bathroom.

Alright, see you in next post!

– G –

Standard

Leave a Reply

